Le Vieux Village Heritage Park & Museum is located at the eastern entrance of historic Opelousas, Louisiana.
Le Vieux Village is French for ‘the old village.’ At the village you will find a collection of historic buildings that offer a glimpse of early rural life in St. Landry Parish.
Some of the historic buildings at the village include the Venus House, which is one of the oldest Creole homes west of the Mississippi River. The house features handmade wooden nails and bousillage, which is a mixture of mud and moss used as insulation in early Louisiana home construction.
Other historic buildings include a general store dating back to the late 1800s, doctor’s office from the early 19th Century and a two-room rural schoolhouse built in 1911 and a restored train depot which is home to the Louisiana Orphan Train Museum.
The Orphan Train Museum tells the story of Orphan Train Riders who came to Louisiana from New York from 1873 to 1929 by train to be adopted.
The village also includes the Opelousas Tourist Information Center.
Tour of Le Vieux Village
Le Vieux Village, French for the Old Village, is a collection of buildings from Opelousas and St. Landry Parish dating from the 1700s to the early 20th century.
Among the many historic buildings, the village includes one of the oldest Creole homes west of the Mississippi River, a 19th century doctor’s office and country store, and a school house from 1911. The village is also home to the Louisiana Orphan Train Museum.
French for “the old village,” Le Vieux Village is a collection of restored historic structures from Opelousas and from the surrounding areas. The village depicts the unique and diverse historical and cultural heritage that is Opelousas. Although the village showcases structures from the mid-1700s to the mid-1900s, Opelousas is interwoven into the development of Louisiana at a much earlier date. Opelousas was founded in 1720, making it the third oldest city in Louisiana. Take a step back in time at Le Vieux Village and relive history!
For free guided tours and more information, call 800-424-5442.
This “must see attraction” offers visitors a glimpse of early rural life. Among the many historic buildings, the village includes one of the oldest Creole homes west of the Mississippi, a 19th century doctor’s office and country store, and a schoolhouse from 1911.
Last modified: May 26, 2021