207 N. Railroad Avenue
This is the oldest business in Opelousas still operating in its original building. Founded as Skiles Lumber Company in about 1888 by Alonzo C. Skiles, this unique two-story Queen Anne Revival structure is one of the last remaining lumberyard buildings in Louisiana. It represents the era of the Louisiana Lumber Boom of 1885– 1930. NR: 1989.
Last modified: April 13, 2021