128 S. Court Street
Situated across from the courthouse, this building’s ornately decorated tin ceiling makes it architecturally unique. The New Drug Store was opened in 1895 by. At one time during the 1930s, Opelousas seasoning icon and cookbook author Tony Chachere worked as a pharmacist for the New Drug Store, that had a popular soda fountain, where young people gathered in the afternoons and early evenings. This drug store sat next to the site of the old Lacombe Hotel that once stood on Court Street from the late 1700s until the 1920s. (Note: During the Civil War, that hotel was called the St. Landry Hotel, and was the meeting place of the Louisiana Legislature when Opelousas served as the state’s capital from 1862-1863. The courthouse that sat across Court Street, constructed in 1847, served as the actual capitol building during this period. The hotel later was named the Eureka Hotel in 1875, and by the 1890s was known as the Lacombe Hotel, with Austin Lacombe serving as mine host. The hotel was demolished sometime after 1927.
Last modified: April 13, 2021